Martigny – Vallorcine – Argentière – Chamonix – Martigny

au départ de la gare CFF Martigny

This route from Martigny follows in the footsteps of stage #17 (Berne-Finhaut) of the 2016 Tour de France. It leads to Chamonix, a famous and historic alpine town at the foot of Mont Blanc, which at 4,807 m is the highest mountain in Europe.
As you leave from the south of Martigny, by the large roundabout, the ascent begins on the road to Forclaz, built in 1957 and completely renovated in spring 2016. You quickly reach the top of the vineyards, with a magnificent view of the Rhone Valley and the Valais Alps. The vineyards have been on the hillside since the 14th century and extend over 120 hectares. Local grape varieties include Cornalin, Diolinoir, Merlot and Syrah for the reds and for the whites, Marsanne, Humagne Blanc, Pinot Blanc and Petite Arvine, a grape variety that is 100% Valais.
On a fairly wide and very winding road, you continue to the Col de la Forclaz at 1,527 m altitude. During your climb you’ll see the Drapeau Suisse, a very pleasant restaurant with local and seasonal cuisine. When you arrive at the Col de la Forclaz, after a climb rising 1,100 m in altitude, a stop on the sunny panoramic terrace is welcome.

Below the col you can see the village of Trient, which gave its name to the glacier located in the valley to the left of the col. For lovers of hiking, the Tour du Mont Blanc, which takes 5 to 6 days with accommodation in cabins, goes through the Col de la Forclaz.
In the rugged mountains, you can visit mysterious gorges and waterfalls cascading into the coolness of the rock. The area is popular with climbers and has several fairly steep climbs. After the village of Trient and the long straight path, on your right, perched on a hillside, you will see the village of Finhaut, a tourist mecca of the late 19th century.

There are two options for the way back:

The really sporty take the road.
Or you can go back by train, on the Mont Blanc Express, which runs every hour. In an hour and 45 minutes you travel over 45 km to reach Martigny, crossing the very deep valley of Trient. The cog railway then descends slowly into Martigny, offering a beautiful view of Lake Rosel, an ideal spot for windsurfing.

Download

INFORMATIONS

Duration : 02h56
Distance : 44.02 km
Periode : Mai – Octobre
Difficulty : Difficult
Gradient : 2102 m (+) / 1480 m (-)
Min altitude : 467 m
Max altitude : 1526 m
Starting Point : 7.078749/46.105637
Altitude at arrival point : 467 m
Arrival point : 6.863630/45.924092
Altitude at arrival point : 1089 m

CONTACT

Martigny
Avenue de la Gare 6
1920 Martigny, Suisse
info@martigny.com
+41 27 720 49 49

Martigny – Vallorcine – Argentière – Chamonix – Martigny

au départ de la gare CFF Martigny

Ce parcours au départ de Martigny suit les traces de l’étape no 17 (Berne-Finhaut) du Tour de France 2016. Il conduit à Chamonix, station alpine réputée et historique, au pied du Mont-Blanc, la plus haute montagne d’Europe à 4807 m.

A la sortie de Martigny côté sud, dans le grand rond-point, l’ascension commence sur la route de la Forclaz, construite dès 1957 et totalement rénovée au printemps 2016. Vous atteignez rapidement le sommet des vignes, avec une vue magnifique sur la plaine du Rhône et les Alpes valaisannes. Le vignoble s’est implanté à partir du 14 e siècle sur le coteau et s’étend sur 120 hectares. On y trouve des spécialités comme le Cornalin, le Diolinoir, le Merlot et la Syrah pour les rouges, et pour les blancs la Marsanne, l’Humagne Blanc, le Pinot blanc et la Petite Arvine, un cépage 100% valaisan.

Sur un tracé assez large et en lacets, vous poursuivez jusqu’au col de la Forclaz à 1527 m d’altitude. Lors de votre montée, vous trouverez le Drapeau suisse, un restaurant fort agréable avec une cuisine locale et de saison. Arrivé au col de la Forclaz, après 1100 m de dénivelé, une halte sur la terrasse ensoleillée et panoramique est bienvenue.

En contrebas du col, le village de Trient a donné son nom au glacier qui se trouve dans la vallée à gauche du col. Pour les amateurs de randonnée, le Tour du Mont-Blanc passe par le col de la Forclaz et se fait en 5 à 6 jours avec hébergement en cabane.

Dans les montagnes escarpées, vous pourrez visiter les gorges mystérieuses, chutes d’eau en cascade dans la fraicheur de la roche. La région est très prisée des grimpeurs avec plusieurs voies assez vertigineuses. Après le village de Trient et le long tracé rectiligne, vous verrez sur votre droite le petit village de Finhaut, haut lieu touristique de la fin du 19 e siècle, accroché à flanc de coteau.

Sur le trajet du retour, 2 options s’offrent à vous :

Les plus sportifs reprennent la route.
Le retour en train avec le Mont-Blanc Express est aussi possible, chaque heure. En 1h45, vous parcourez 45 km pour rejoindre Martigny et vous traversez cette vallée du Trient très profonde. Le train à crémaillère descendra ensuite lentement sur Martigny, offrant un très beau point de vue sur l’étang du Rosel, spot idéal pour la planche à voile.

Télécharger

INFORMATIONS

Durée : 02h56
Distance : 44.02 km
Période : Mai à Octobre
Difficulté : Difficile
Dénivellation : 2102 m (+) / 1480 m (-)
Altitude min : 467 m
Altitude max : 1526 m
Point de départ : 7.078749/46.105637
Altitude point de départ : 467 m
Point d’arrivée : 6.863630/45.924092
Altitude point d’arrivée : 1089 m

 

CONTACT

Martigny
Avenue de la Gare 6
1920 Martigny, Suisse
info@martigny.com
+41 27 720 49 49