La Route des vins

Leaving from Martigny railway station

This route runs through the Rhone valley, through fruit orchards (apricots, pears, apples, …) and vineyards. It could be called the wine road because it offers the Valais’ best specialties.
We suggest you go up the right bank of the Rhone as far as Sion and then come back down along the left bank. Obviously, you can change it round but be aware that the north bank is sunnier.
At Fully you’ll find the Follaterres Nature Reserve and a chestnut grove. The village is famous for its chestnut festival which is held every autumn. Take the time to sample the local speciality, a wonderful native Valais white wine called the Petite Arvine.

The road then leads to Ardon where you will see a beautiful well-preserved marshland. Then you’ll come to Vétroz, home of Amigne, a beautiful white wine whose sugar content is measured in bees (1 bee = dry / 3 bees = sweet). Finally, you go through Conthey and Ormone before arriving in Sion.
Dominated by two castles (Valere and Tourbillon), Sion is the capital of Valais. The historic city centre is worth seeing.
For your return, head in the direction of Aproz (on the left bank of the Rhône). This village is famous for its water but also because it holds the national final of the Battles of the Queens (Hérens cows).

Saillon is a medieval village that has been elected the most beautiful village in Switzerland. It grows the best asparagus in Valais (in May and June). You should also take the opportunity to visit the smallest vineyard in the world, the one that belonged to Farinet, a famous counterfeiter in the late 19th century. This vineyard has 3 vines but is extremely famous since it is maintained every year by a different celebrity (Zinedine Zidane, the Dalai Lama, Roger Moore, David Douillet, …) Finally, the Bains des Saillon complex is ideal for a swim, summer or winter, and the chance to relax for a while.
After crossing Leytron, which stands on an alluvial cone, you reach Chamoson, one of the Valais’ largest wine growing areas and home to a grape variety called Humagne, which can be red or white. The nearby village of Saint-Pierre-de-Clages is also known as “the village of the book”.

Follow the Rhone to Riddes and then continue to the village of Saxon, famous for apricots which all the people of Valais are very proud of. Why not indulge in some of these orange fruits, whether as jam, ice cream, juice, abricotine liqueur or simply in their natural state.
Charrat is the last village before you arrive in Martigny, and it is often visited in the spring, because it is one of the few places in Switzerland where we can still admire the adonis, a rare flower.
Back in Martigny after an active day, you’ll probably want to visit Barryland, the museum dedicated to the St. Bernard dogs, or the Pierre Gianadda Foundation which has beautiful painting and sculpture exhibitions, as well as an underground car museum. You can relax on the terraces of the Place Centrale de Martigny or Rue du Bourg.

Download

INFORMATIONS

Duration : 02h56
Distance : 64.85 km
Periode : Mars to Octobre
Difficulty : Easy
Gradient : 692 m (+) / 692 m (-)
Min altitude : 456 m
Max altitude  : 657 m
Starting point : 7.078762/46.105638
Altitude at starting point : 467 m
Arrival point : 7.079098/46.105638
Altitude at arrival point : 467 m

CONTACT

Martigny
Avenue de la Gare 6
1920 Martigny, Suisse
info@martigny.com
+41 27 720 49 49

La Route des vins

au départ de la gare CFF Martigny

Ce parcours traverse la plaine du Rhône au milieu des vergers de fruits (abricots, poires, pommes,…) et du vignoble. Il pourrait s’appeler la route du vin car il propose les meilleures spécialités du Valais.
Nous vous proposons de remonter le Rhône jusqu’à Sion par la rive droite du Rhône et de redescendre par la rive gauche. Vous pouvez intervertir le sens mais sachez que le flanc nord est plus ensoleillé.
Fully abrite la réserve naturelle des Follaterres ainsi qu’une châtaigneraie. Le village est connu pour sa fête de la châtaigne qui a lieu chaque automne. Prenez le temps de déguster la spécialité locale, la Petite-Arvine, un merveilleux vin blanc autochtone du Valais.

La route vous mène ensuite à Ardon où vous apercevez un magnifique marais préservé de l’homme. Ensuite, vous rejoignez Vétroz, chef-lieu de l’Amigne : un magnifique vin blanc dont le degré de sucre se compte en abeilles (1 abeille = sec / 3 abeilles = sucrée). Finalement, vous traversez Conthey et Ormone avant de rejoindre Sion.
Dominée par 2 châteaux (Valère et Tourbillon), Sion est la capitale du Valais. Le centre historique de la ville vaut le détour.
Le retour se fait en direction d’Aproz (sur la rive gauche du Rhône) : ce village est connu pour son eau mais également pour sa finale nationale des combats de Reines (vaches d’Hérens).

Saillon, bourg médiéval, a été élu plus beau village de Suisse romande. C’est ici que poussent les meilleures asperges valaisannes (en mai-juin). Profitez également de vous rendre sur la plus petite vigne du monde : la vigne à Farinet, faux-monnayeur célèbre à la fin du 19 e siècle. Cette parcelle composée de 3 ceps est extrêmement connue puisqu’elle est entretenue chaque année par une personnalité différente (Zinédine Zidane, le Dalaï Lama, Roger Moore, David Douillet,…) Enfin, le complexe des Bains de Saillon est idéal pour piquer une tête, été comme hiver, et profiter d’un moment de détente.
Après avoir traversé Leytron, posé sur un cône de déjection, vous arrivez à Chamoson, l’un des plus grands domaines viticoles du Valais, capitale de l’Humagne, qui est un cépage rouge ou blanc. Le village voisin, Saint-Pierre- de-Clages est aussi appelé « le village du livre ».

Longez le Rhône jusqu’à Riddes puis continuez sur Saxon, village réputé pour ses abricots qui font la fierté de tous les valaisans. Laissez-vous tenter par ces fruits orangés, que ce soit en confiture, en glace, en jus, en abricotine ou simplement à l’état naturel.
Dernier village avant de rejoindre Martigny, Charrat est souvent visité au printemps car il s’agit d’un des rares lieux de Suisse ou l’on peut encore admirer l’adonis, une fleur rare.
De retour à Martigny après une belle journée sportive, vous aurez sans doute l’occasion de visiter Barryland, le musée consacré aux chiens du St-Bernard ou la Fondation Pierre Gianadda qui propose de belles expositions de peinture et sculpture et abrite également, au sous-sol, un musée de l’automobile. Profitez de la Place Centrale de Martigny ou de sa Rue du Bourg pour vous détendre en terrasse.

Télécharger

INFORMATIONS

Durée : 02h56
Distance : 64.85 km
Période : Mars à Octobre
Difficulté : Facile
Dénivellation : 692 m (+) / 692 m (-)
Altitude min : 456 m
Altitude max : 657 m
Point de départ : 7.078762/46.105638
Altitude point de départ : 467 m
Point d’arrivée : 7.079098/46.105638
Altitude point d’arrivée : 467 m

CONTACT

Martigny
Avenue de la Gare 6
1920 Martigny, Suisse
info@martigny.com
+41 27 720 49 49